Farmersville pastor to chair SBC resolutions committee

February 14, 2022

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (BP)—Farmersville pastor Bart Barber will serve as chair for the 2022 resolutions committee at the Southern Baptist Convention annual meeting in Anaheim, SBC President Ed Litton annual Feb. 14.



Bart Barber

Barber, who will celebrate 23 years at First Baptist Church in Farmersville in July, served on the committee last year alongside Dana McCain, a member of First Baptist Church in Dothan, Ala., who will be vice chair.

Jared Wellman, lead pastor of Tate Springs Baptist Church in Arlington, also will serve on the resolutions committee.

Both First Baptist Church in Farmersville and Tate Springs Baptist Church in Arlington are uniquely aligned with the Southern Baptists of Texas Convention.

"I believe with all of my heart that whenever two or three believers gather in his name, Christ is present among them to speak to them and through them," Barber said. "Our resolutions play a beautiful role in that divine process. It is not my ambition to shape Southern Baptist opinion, but instead to state Southern Baptist opinion—to empower our messengers to speak as Christ has laid it upon their hearts to speak."

For McCain, involvement in crisis pregnancy ministries spurred her passion for seeing the gospel's impact on people's lives.

"It's humbling to participate in the process of helping Southern Baptists reflect the gospel to the world by speaking to contemporary issues, both within the church and in the public square," she said. "I'm honored to be able to serve the SBC in this way, and look forward to the good things God will do during our time together at the 2022 annual meeting."

Other committee members are: Julio Arriola, director of Send Network SBTC and a member of Thompson Station Church, Thompson's Station, Tenn.; JT English, lead pastor of Storyline Fellowship in Arvada, Colo.; Kristen Ferguson from 11th Street Baptist Church in Upland, Calif.; Donna Gaines from Bellevue Baptist Church, Cordova, Tenn.; Mike Keahbone, senior pastor of First Baptist Church, Lawton, Okla; Jon C. Nelson, lead pastor of Soma Community Church, Jefferson City, Mo., and president of the Missouri Baptist Convention; and David Sons, lead pastor of Lake Murray Baptist Church, Lexington, S.C.

"For many decades, the resolutions process has served our convention by allowing us to speak forcefully to significant matters upon which we are resolved," Litton said. "I have the highest confidence in the men and women I have asked to serve on the 2022 committee on resolutions. Each of them are faithful and capable leaders who embody what it means to be a Great Commission Baptist.

"I am particularly grateful for Dr. Bart Barber's willingness to serve as chair of the committee. Across our convention, Dr. Barber is esteemed for his character and wisdom, as well as his conviction and charity. I have no doubt that Dr. Barber, along with Vice Chair Dana Hall McCain, will serve all of us by leading this committee to present resolutions for consideration that reflect the biblical priorities and convictions of our Great Commission people."

According to Bylaw 20, the committee must include at least two members who served the previous year, a requirement fulfilled by Barber and McCain. Keahbone, Sons and Wellman meet the stipulation that three Executive Committee members also be on the committee. Wellman served on the committee last year as well.

Rules for submitting a resolution

Proposed resolutions may be submitted as early as April 15 but no later than 15 days prior to the SBC annual meeting, giving the resolutions committee a two-week period to consider submissions. The committee also may propose resolutions for consideration during its deliberations. Resolutions may not be submitted during the annual meeting.

Proposed resolutions must be accompanied by a letter from a church qualified to send a messenger to the SBC annual meeting certifying the individual submitting the resolution is a member in good standing.

Proposed resolutions may be mailed to the resolutions committee in care of the SBC Executive Committee, 901 Commerce St., Nashville, TN 37203. The drafts must be typewritten, titled, dated and include complete contact information for the person and his or her church.

No person will be allowed to submit more than three resolutions per year.

If a properly submitted resolution is not forwarded by the resolutions committee to the SBC annual meeting, a two-thirds vote of messengers would be required to bring the proposed resolution to the convention floor.