Around the State: HPU receives Dean Foundation grant

December 15, 2021

Howard Payne University recently received a \$200,000 grant from the Dean Foundation to establish the William B. Dean, M.D., Lecture Series and Community Impact Day, annual events focusing on the importance of community service. "These events will recognize Dr. Dean's longstanding example of Christian service to his community," said HPU President Cory Hines. The Dean Foundation is chaired by David A. Dean, son of the late William B. Dean, Dallas-area pediatrician and trailblazer in conditions affecting children such as dyslexia and polio. The inaugural lecture and service day is scheduled March 30, 2022, with keynote speaker Scott Venable, a 2002 HPU graduate and lead pastor of Northwood Church in Keller.



Alayna Grace Scull, who graduated from East Texas Baptist University with a Bachelor of Business

Administration in Management degree, receives the 2021 President's Award from ETBU President J. Blair Blackburn. (ETBU Photo)

East Texas Baptist University granted degrees to 132 graduates—83 undergraduate degrees and 49 graduate degrees—during two commencement ceremonies on Dec. 11. Speakers at the ceremonies were **Jeph Holloway**, professor of Christian ministry at ETBU, and **Roy Cotton**, retired director of African American ministries for the Baptist General Convention of Texas and now coordinator of Texas Baptists' Ambassador Program. **Alayna Grace Scull** received the ETBU President's Award, given to a graduating ETBU student who is considered the best representation of a Christian leader, scholar and servant. Scull graduated with a Bachelor of Business Administration in Management degree, maintaining a 4.00 GPA. She is a member of *Sigma Beta Delta* Society and the 2021 recipient of the Business Department's Academic Excellence Award. She also is a Baptist Student Ministry leader for worship and prayer.

With a goal-line stand in the final seconds of a 21-16 victory over Oklahoma State University, the Baylor Bears clinched the 2021 Big 12 Football Championship. Baylor will face the University of Mississippi in the 88th annual Allstate Sugar Bowl in New Orleans on Jan. 1. In other Baylor University sports, the men's basketball team—reigning NCAA men's national champions—climbed to No. 1 in the AP Top 25 poll after a 57-36 victory over the Villanova Wildcats on Dec. 12.

The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor Crusaders will compete in the NCAA Division III National Championship— Stagg Bowl XLVIII—on Dec. 17. The Crusaders will face the North Central College Cardinals in Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium in Canton, Ohio. The Cru football team advanced to

the championship after defeating the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Warhawks 24-7 in the NCAA Semifinal game.

After receiving an anonymous \$1 million gift, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary announced it has the necessary \$2 million to complete funding of the endowed Jack D. and Barbara Terry Chair of Religious Education. Established in 2007, the Terry Chair is named for **Jack D. Terry Jr.**, former dean and long-time faculty member, and his wife of more than 60 years, **Barbara**. The School of Educational Ministries was named in his honor in 2009.



Howard Payne University's 2020-21 Model United Nations team was named one of the top 50 teams in the United States and Canada and the top team in Texas.

Howard Payne University's 2020-21 Model United Nations team was named one of the top 50 teams in the United States and Canada and the top team in Texas by Best Delegate. HPU's team was placed in the second tier of the rankings, which included teams from Brown University, New York University, Stanford University, The Ohio State University, University of Michigan and Michigan State University. The team was led by head delegates **Madeline DuPré**, a 2021 HPU graduate from Leander, and **Jacob Lehrer**, a 2021 HPU graduate from Midland. Other team members

were **Hallie Burden**, a junior from Nederland majoring in social work; **Joseph Lahmann**, a 2021 HPU graduate from Killeen; **Brooke Robbins**, a junior from Kerrville in the Guy D. Newman Honors Academy; **Sierra Ross**, a 2021 HPU graduate from Galveston; and **Madison Tuck**, a sophomore from Edgewood, N.M., majoring in the Honors Academy. **Dave Claborn**, professor of government, is the Model United Nations team sponsor.